An unusual school in New Brunswick. It was built at Prince William Station to accommodate the family of one man: Ross Jamieson. The children before this school was built were attending school at Magaguadavic Siding. They would catch the train which runs just beside their house and get off at the Siding. However, Mr. Jamieson had a son born (Evans) who had difficulty walking and it was not feasible to go on the train. So Herb Swan built this school house in 1932, specifically for the Jamieson family. The children went here from grades 1-8.
The teacher for the school in 1936 was Miss Lydia Pheeney, McAdam, who had to commute to and from McAdam as there was no accommodations for her at Prince William Station.

Photo Details

Share this!

Explore more historical photos