
Settlements
The Harvey Rural Community covers many early settlements which are listed here. To this day, many people still refer to their hometown by the name of the original settlement.
The Harvey Rural Community covers many early settlements which are listed here. To this day, many people still refer to their hometown by the name of the original settlement.
Overview of churches in the Harvey Rural Community.
Discover the rich history of the Harvey region through its many monuments, honoring significant events, settlements, and individuals.
Photo of an old country store that used to be on what is now known as the old Prince William Road, near King’s Landing.
Undated photo of what is believed to be Coburn’s store, run by John Ervin Coburn.
Undated photo of G.W. Coburn and Sons store (present day Berty’s Country Store).
This photo is dated 1950 and is of the same building, when it was the Davis General Store. Note the old gas pump in front
Thomas H. Piercy. Son of Matthew Piercy & Agnes Moffitt. Born 29 Aug 1838 in Harvey, NB. Died 11 Dec 1904 in Denman Island, B.C.
Picnic on Cherry Hill. Source: Mrs. Edgar Coburn. Back row: Emma Robinson, Melvin McGee, Elizabeth Robinson, Ken Robinson, Celia Coburn, Miss MacMillan, David Smith. David
Letter written by Jessie Cleghorn Wood to her father, Peter Wood. At the time, she was 18 years old and living in Calais, Maine.
Undated photo of the Charles Robison homestead located near the Village of Harvey.
The Riverside Presbyterian Church was built in Prince William in 1928. It was moved to King’s Landing in 2000.
St. Mark’s Anglican Church at the Kings Landing historical site in Prince William was originally located in the Kingsclear area.
The Harvey Rural Community, established on January 1, 2023, is a vibrant and growing municipality formed as a result of local governance reform in New Brunswick, Canada. The community’s boundaries roughly encompass the former Local Service Districts of Manners Sutton and Prince William, along with the Village of Harvey.
1935 photo of the Harvey Creamery. Source: Sheila Embleton Greer The Harvey area was well known for its Jersey cattle industry. Due to its high
A covered bridge built in the early 1900s was located in Brockway at the end of Tweedside Road spanning the Magaguadavic River.
Graveyards and cemeteries are an important part of the history and heritage of the Harvey Rural Community. Throughout the region, you will find cemeteries in
The former Riverside United Church in Prince William was one of the sites of the Living Waters United Church. It was sold in 2023 to private interests.
A Methodist Church was build at Lake George on land purchased from the Lawson family. After the integration of the Methodist Churches into the United Church, it was used for other purposes.
Located at the north side of Tweedside was a one room school house next door to a Presbyterian Church. The church became a community Hall.
The Magaguadavic United Church likely dates back to sometime after 1870, when it was originally built by Presbyterians. It came a United Church in 1925.
The Pentecostal Church Camp, established in the early 1950s, became a significant gathering place for the Pentacostal community in the area.
Lake George United Church (right) and School (left). Source: Joanna Grass Croning Land for this church was purchased in 1854. It was likely a Presbyterian
Built in 1862, the Burden Baptist Church was located in Burden, York County, New Brunswick.
The Prince William Baptist Church is located in Prince William, New Brunswick.
St. Patrick’s Church was built in Newmarket, New Brunswick along Route 3 in around 1883.